The President of the United States

Presidential Election

Election Day is the first Tuesday after the first Monday of November. You must be 18 years old to vote. The next presidential election is in 2020, and again every four years. The presidency of the United States is a four-year term with a two-term limit. The President of the United States sometimes referred to as POTUS, is in charge of the executive branch. He is Commander-in-Chief of the nation’s armed forces, ensuring that our country is kept safe.

Presidential Eligibility

The Constitutional requirements to be president are:

1. be at least 35 years old
2. be a natural-born US citizen
3. live in the US for 14 years.

The Constitution does not elaborate on whether the 14 years can be cumulative or consecutive. John F. Kennedy was the youngest person elected president; he was 43 years old when inaugurated in 1961.

The White House

The President of the United StatesThe President of the United States lives and works in the White House. The president’s office inside of the White House is called the Oval Office. The first president to live and work in the White House was John Adams: he and his wife Abigail moved in on November 1, 1800. In nearly two-hundred years, 45 presidents have lived and worked in the White House. The address of the White House is 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue in Washington, D.C. The president flies on a specially equipped aircraft called Air Force One. The president uses a helicopter, known as Marine One, as transport between the White House and Air Force One based at Joint Air Base Andrews.

Powers and Duties of the President

The US Constitution outlines the powers and duties of the president in Article II. Along the powers and duties granted to and expected of the president are:

  • Serving as Commander in Chief of the armed forces,
  • Commissioning officers of the armed forces,
  • Convening Congress in special sessions,
  • Receiving ambassadors from other countries,
  • Ensuring the faithful execution of federal laws,
  • Granting reprieves and pardons for federal offenses (except impeachment), and
  • Appointing Cabinet officials, White House staff, and Supreme Court justices.

The president approves and vetoes laws enacted by Congress. When Congress sends him a new law, he may or may not agree to sign it. When the president declines to sign a bill, thus preventing it from becoming law, it is known as a presidential veto. POTUS lets Congress know about new laws that the executive branch believes the country needs, and uses his or her political influence to get them passed.

POTUS makes agreements, called treaties, with other countries. A treaty is a formal, written agreement between sovereign states or between states and international organizations. Treaties require the advice and consent of the Senate to receive ratification.

Current President of the United States

President Donald J. Trump is the current head of the executive branch and the Commander-in-Chief of the United States military.