Word Search

3 Branches of Government Word Search Terms:

Amendments: This is the name for any changes or additions made to a legal document. This term most often refers to changes in the U.S. Constitution.

Bill of Rights: This term refers to the first ten amendments of the U.S. Constitution that were ratified in 1791.

Cabinet: This is the collective term for the president’s fifteen advisers.

Capital: This is the meeting place of the United States Congress.

Checks and Balances: This is a principle of the United States government that ensures all of the political power does not fall into the hands of one person. Instead the power is divided among three governing branches who make sure the power remains equal.

Congress: This is the name of the body that makes the laws in the United States. It is made up of two houses: the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Constitution: This is the term for a body of laws by which a country or organization is governed.

Democracy: This is the name of a type of government where the people hold the power. This form of government typically elects representatives to speak for the entire population.

Enforces the Laws: This is the act of making sure the laws that have been created are indeed carried out.

Executive Branch: In the United States, this branch of government includes the president, vice president, and the Cabinet. Their job is to enforce the laws.

House of Representatives: This is one of the two houses that make up Congress. This house has 435 members, and each of these members is elected to represent the people of their district.

Judicial Branch: This branch of government is responsible for interpreting the laws of the United States. It includes all of the courts: the Supreme Court, Circuit Court, and local courts.

Justices: This is the title held by the judges who serve on the Supreme Court.

Legislative Branch: This is the branch of government that creates the laws. In the United States, this falls to the House of Representatives and the Senate.

Makes the Laws: This is the responsibility of Congress. Congress members write, discuss, and vote on the laws for the United States.

President: This is the elected leader of the United States. This leader is also the head of the executive branch.

Representatives: This is the collective name for those who are elected to speak for the general public in the House of Representatives. They are responsible for making laws that benefit the people they represent.

Senate: This is one of the houses of Congress. It is responsible for writing the laws.

Senators: This is the collective name for those who are elected to the Senate. Every state has two senators who speak for them in Congress and make sure the laws are in everyone’s best interest.

Separation of Powers: This is the term for the division of political power. In the United States, the power is separated among the judicial, executive, and legislative branches so that no individual can seize all of the power for himself.

Supreme Court: This is the name of highest court in the United States. This judicial body is responsible for determining whether or not a law is constitutional.

Veto: This is the term for the president’s ability to reject a bill that Congress has written.

Vice President: This is the title of the person who is second in command to the president.

Washington DC: This is the capital of the United States.

White House: This is the home and office of the president of the United States.